I-Shou University, formerly known as Kaohsiung Polytechnic Institute, was founded in 1986 in southern Taiwan. It was renamed as I-Shou University in 1997. In memory of his mother, the founder of I-Shou University, Mr. I-Shou Lin, established E-Da Hospital in Yanchao District, Kaohsiung, to provide quality medical care for patients and to contribute to society. Furthermore, the College of Medicine was established to enhance the service level of medical care in southern Taiwan in combination with high technology development. The ultimate goal is to train more healthcare professionals with decent medical ethics to serve the people by integrating the resources of the University and the Hospital.

There are ten departments/programs in the College of Medicine, including the Department of Healthcare Administration, the Department of Nursing, the Department of Physical Therapy, the Department of Occupational Therapy, the Department of Nutrition, the Department of Health Management, the School of Chinese Medicine for Post Baccalaureate, the School of Medicine, the Bachelor' Degree Program for Indigenous Peoples in Long-term Care, the School of Medicine, and the School of Medicine for International Students.